South Downs Gateway Churches

St Mary Twyford

St Mary’s seeks to be a living Christian presence at the heart of the community, providing a vibrant place of worship, spiritual hope and peace, where God’s love can be shared with all.

The church has regular weekly services at 8am and 11am  and supports an active programme for children through Messy Church, which is held most months during school term-time, in the local Parish Hall at 4pm-6pm on Sundays.

Christians have worshipped here for nearly 1,000 years. An early Saxon building was replaced by a Norman church, which in turn was replaced by a new church (retaining some Norman capitals on the supporting columns) by the Victorian architect Alfred Waterhouse (Natural History Museum, Manchester Town Hall), and is a Grade II* Listed Building. St Mary’s was dedicated in 1878 and further developed in 1996 to include church rooms, toilets and kitchen facilities.

The original Walker organ was recently rebuilt details of which can be found here.

St Mary’s has a ring of 8 bells, details of which can be seen here, and the church is set in a lovely and peaceful churchyard. An appeal is underway for work to be done to the bells. For more detail and hopefully to donate to the appeal, please click here.

The church has close ties with the local primary school Twyford St. Mary’s Church of England Primary School, including some foundation governors elected by the Parochial Church Council.

Location Morestead, Owslebury, Twyford, Colden Common. Benefice Office: Holy Trinity Church Centre, 154 Main Road, Colden Common SO21 1TJ Phone 01962 715172
search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close